Squirrel hair… makeup brushes?

I didn’t think I’d ever post a fashion related comment on this blog, but here it goes. I was dragged into the makeup store Sephora on the weekend, and stumbled upon squirrel hair makeup brushes. Apparently, “the super soft squirrel-hair bristles distribute powder perfectly“. To quote my co-author,definitely not vegan‘. Now, I have heard of pony hair brushes, but never squirrel. This raises two questions in my mind: (1) Is there a squirrel farm out there?; and (2) Ethically speaking, is this better, worse or the same as using pony hair? I will definitely be exploring the speciesism issue more.

[Picture forthcoming]

Leave a Reply

